‘Why Didn’t I Think of That?’ Moment of the Day: What to Do with Excess Grease from Cooking

Standard

A few weeks ago, I challenged myself to use my Pinterest addiction to my benefit by implementing at least one pin per week in real life.  So far, so good.  Not all of my endeavors are worth sharing (and I forgot to take pictures of two others that were), but this is one that I just have to pass on to you.  I’ve used it multiple times in the past three weeks, and am so happy to have stumbled upon it. I’d share the original link if it were attached to the pin, but there wasn’t one.

But I had quite the “Why didn’t I think of that?” kind of moment when I read the instructions, and I think you might, too.  (Or does everyone already do this?  I’m not domestically inclined by nature, so I wouldn’t know.)

What to Do with Excess Grease from Cooking

What You Need:

  • Bowl
  • Aluminum Foil

Directions:

Line inside of bowl with aluminum foil.

Pour in excess grease.

Let sit until hardened.

Remove foil.

Ball it up, and toss it!

That’s it.  Genius, right?

I used to pour grease down the sink drain (seriously!), never considering what an absolutely terrible idea it was.  Then I started flushing it down the toilet, thinking that might be a better idea.  (Have I mentioned how not naturally domesticated I am??)  And then, after a family member freaked out upon seeing my grease disposal methods, I started to pour it into an old soup can.  But I don’t always have an empty one on hand.  So this, I’ve decided, is the perfect solution.

I heart Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

