DIY Multicolored, Fun-Shaped Crayons (Semi-Redemption)

Standard

Two days ago, I completely failed at creating these cute favors for our family Easter party.  (Click HERE to see the hot mess I made.)  So I gave it another go last night, and was semi-redeemed.

Clearly, I used a Christmas-tree-shaped mold, despite the fact that it’s Easter, but I refuse to spend $16 on an Easter mold just for melting crayons.  And instead of Crayola crayons, I used cheap Dollar Tree ones this time (much, much easier to unwrap!).  Fortunately, the recipients of my crayons will be toddlers, who will not care at all about the theme or quality of the crayons.

To make your own multicolored, fun-shaped crayons…

You will need:

  • Crayons
  • Silicone Mold
  • Oven

Directions:

  1. Peel the wrappers off your crayons.
  2. Break each crayon into pieces.  (I broke mine into four pieces each.)
  3. Put different colored pieces into your silicone mold.
  4. Heat at 225 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until they reach the consistency you want.
  5. Remove from oven carefully.  (Keep a steady hand:  you don’t want the colors to blend too much, or your crayons will look brown.)
  6. Allow them to harden on their own, or you can speed the process by putting them in the freezer.
  7. Pop completely hardened crayons out of molds, and enjoy!

Voila!  Fun-shaped, multicolored, super-quick-and-easy-to-make crayons.  Great for party favors or general kids’ crafts.

But I did say that last night’s crayons are only a semi-success. 

After sticking them in the oven, I began drinking wine (Reggae Red – woot!), and talking with my sister and her boyfriend, who are visiting from Kalamazoo, Michigan.  I remembered that the crayons were still in the oven only after the bottle was gone… 46 minutes later.  Oops.

So the colors mixed way too much toward the top of the mold, making the backs of the crayons a purplish brown.

Since the fronts were sort of okay, though, I decided that they passed as appropriate gifts for the toddlers at tomorrow’s shindig.  I look forward to having something homemade to give them!

Leave a Reply

