Tackling Time Management

Standard

Almost two weeks ago, I posted about needing a new daily routine and time budget.  I wrote a few drafts on scrap paper until I felt I’d created something manageable, and then…… ignored it.  Since then, things have gotten completely out-of-hand.

During this transitional period in my life, I desperately need to learn how to be more productive on the home front.  I’m going to rely partially on public accountability, via this blog, to keep me going.  (If nobody reads this, I’ll call it the “illusion of public accountability.”)

Note:  The templates that I’m using for my daily routine and time budget are those recommended by my personal hero, Crystal Paine.  If there’s any one woman who can do it all, it’s her; and I admire her so much for it.  I do, however, recognize my own limitations, and refuse to set myself up for failure by trying to do everything.  I just want to do more.  Period.

So I’ll start with my time budget.  The following passage from  The Money Saving Mom‘s Budget gave me some perspective on why this is such a helpful tool:

“If I put ‘laundry’ on my list, I’ll feel bad if I can’t get all the laundry done.  But if I know I’ve budgeted thirty minutes to wash, fold, and put away clothes, that burden of guilt is lifted.  I’ve ‘done my duty’ for the day even if there’s still laundry left to do.”

Time Budget (If my mental math is correct, this should add up to 24 hours!):

  • Read Bible/Pray – 30 minutes
  • QT with Josh – 5 hours
  • Run (the only kind of exercise you’re getting out of me) – 30 minutes
  • Personal Hygiene/Grooming – 1 hour
  • Meal Prep – 90 minutes
  • Cleaning/Home Management – 90 minutes
  • Computer Time – 3 hours
  • Reading – 1 hour
  • Margin Time – 3 hours
  • Sleep – 7 hours

********************

Wake Up:  6:30 a.m.  (Jesus, help me.)

Breakfast:  8:30 a.m.

Lunch:  12:30 p.m.

Dinner:  6:00 p.m.

Bedtime:  11:30 p.m.

*********************

ROUTINES (big rocks & gravel)

Morning:

  • Get up, Start Laundry
  • Run
  • Dinner Out from Freezer
  • 15-Minute Clean-up Timer
  • Shower, Dress, etc.
  • Read Bible/Pray
  • Computer Time/Read
  • Transfer Laundry to Dryer
  • Wake Josh
  • Breakfast/Take Vitamins
  • Clean Kitchen
  • Check on Busia & Grandpa
  • QT with El Bebe

Afternoon:

  • Lunch
  • Clean Kitchen
  • Josh’s Nap
  • Fold & Put Away Laundry
  • 15-Minute Clean-up Timer
  • Weekly Task (Deep Cleaning, Couponing, Correspondence, etc.)
  • Computer Time/Read
  • Wake Josh
  • QT with El Bebe

Evening:

  • Cook
  • Dinner
  • Clean Kitchen
  • QT with El Bebe
  • Josh’s Bath
  • Josh’s Bedtime
  • 15-Minute Clean-up Timer
  • Computer Time/Read
  • Brush Teeth, Wash Face, etc.

Tomorrow is a new day.  This IS manageable.  I WILL be the list.  I WILL be the list.  I WILL be the list….

Any comments, questions, or suggestions – please leave them in the comments section.  I need all the inspiration, motivation, and encouragement I can get!!  Thanks!

photo credit

Leave a Reply

