Introduction to Couponing

Standard

photo credit: us.123rf.com

A superabundance of information on how to use coupons effectively can be found on the Internet.  But where should you start?

Right here’s good!

Over the next several weeks, I’ll be sharing with you all the information that I’ve found to be helpful and necessary along my extreme couponing journey.  I’ll do my best to teach you what I know, in a format kind of like a class.  And like a good student, please use the comments section to ask me any questions you may have.   Also feel free to offer any additional forms of feedback.  There’s a reason you are required to do teacher evaluations in school.  Closed mouths don’t get fed!

My Inspiration

My obsessive money-saving endeavors began last spring after I watched an episode of Extreme Couponing on TLC.  How could it be possible that this woman was paid to leave the store with multiple carts overflowing with groceries??  I needed to know.

After watching a few episodes, I researched online for only seconds before I came across a plethora of couponing blogs and Web sites created by women like the ones I saw on the show.  Women like me – moms searching for extra ways in which they could provide for their families despite having a finite or very limited income.

I subscribed to a handful of blogs that I found to be trustworthy, attempted my first deal, and never looked back.  For the sake of brevity, I’ll spare you the details (just this once!).  But I will say that it only took me one extreme couponing adventure before I. Was. Hooked.

My Qualifications

Since that day the better part of a year ago, I have managed to save 40, 50, 75, 90, sometimes 100 percent or better (“better” means getting paid to leave the store with products) on the vast majority of my shopping trips.  You took math in school.  You know that such high savings can really add up.

I wish I could say that I’m doing something really cool with my savings, like taking an exotic vacation or buying an extravagant item like a boat or something.  But I’m not.  I’m paying Sallie Mae.  And if you know anything about her, you know that you had better pay her, or she will ruin your life.  So the stakes are high for me.  I have to be good at this in order to keep the loan sharks from breaking my legs.  Or whatever it is that they do.

The Syllabus

After serving as a member of my middle school and high school newspaper staffs, and as a college-graduated journalism major, answering Who?, What?, Where?, When?, Why?, and How? is a practice that has been beaten into my brain.

Those are the questions I will answer for you.  I’ll try my best to simplify the amount of information that’s out there so that you, too, may reap the benefits of becoming an Extreme Couponing Extraordinaire.

My next post will be part two of your Introduction to Couponing “course.”  Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

