40 Day Lent Challenge: Day 8

Standard

photo credit: ctklansing

On Ash Wednesday, I outlined my goals for Lent. Here’s how I fared on Day 8……

Counting My Blessings – Five Things for Which I Am Thankful (listed in no particular order):

  1. Coupons.  They allow me to save money.  They have provided me with a pleasantly challenging hobby obsession.  They allow me to share with my loved ones and my community.
  2. My support system of family and friends.  I love reading the Postsecret Web site on Sundays.  For me, it’s mostly voyeuristic; but for many of the people who submit secrets, it’s a way to reach out to others in desperation.  So many people feel hopeless because they lack supportive friends and family.  I am blessed to have loved ones who express their love and support for me on even my darkest days.
  3. This chocolate chip cookie I’m eating.  A sweet treat can please my palate, fill my tummy, even brighten my mood.  Millions of people don’t have the luxury of snacking on homemade goodies in the middle of the night.  Some because of dietary restrictions, others because they can’t afford it.  Today, I got to eat my three squares, and just as many snacks.  I’m willing to bet that that’s more than some people eat in a week.
  4. The treadmill in the basement.  I have yet to use it, of course, but I’m happy it’s there.  I haven’t gone running since before I had Josh, but it was always one of my favorite activities.  Lifts my mood, makes me feel better physically, motivates me to be productive throughout the rest of the day.  I have recently listed running daily as one of my big rocks on my to-do list.  If the treadmill weren’t there, I probably wouldn’t even plan to run.  (It’s difficult to leave the house for that kind of activity when you are caring for a small child, and incumbent weather isn’t very motivating either.)  So when I begin my new routine this week, I intend to start putting that bad boy to good use.
  5. The 24 hours in each day.  I often feel overwhelmed because I have so much to do, and not enough time in which to do it.  I should take more time to be thankful that I have days to plan at all.  Whether they had important plans or not, many people didn’t get to wake up this morning.

Fasting Research of the Day:  Fasting as Described by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

I am not of the Mormon faith, but I stumbled upon this passage, and was enlightened as to why people do or should fast.  It is general information, like what I found on SpriritHome, but it has given me deeper insight and helped to develop my perspective on my own personal reasons to fast and the manner in which I may do so.

Nonprofit/Charity of the Day:  Selective Mutism Foundation

I am a born communicator.  If you know me, you know I can talk all day long – to anyone, about anything.  I started contributing to a “swear jar” on Ash Wednesday because in doing all that talking, I’m good at dropping a few four-letter words.  I am trying to remind myself that God gave me the ability to speak, and that I should not make Him regret doing so by choosing my words unwisely.  Uttering profanities is equal to behaving in an ungrateful manner.

Many people are unable to talk to others without experiencing anxiety.  Others just cannot physically create oral sounds.  I’ve decided to learn more about both of those disorders because I think the proceeds of my swear jar should be donated to an organization affiliated with one or both of them.

The Selective Mutism Foundation defines the disorder by saying, “Selective Mutism is a childhood anxiety disorder with a persistent FAILURE (not refusal) TO SPEAK in select social settings.”  I can’t imagine how difficult it would be to live with this condition.  I want to contribute to helping others find their voice, instead of using mine inappropriately. 

Swear Jar Contribution:  $0.00

Another good day for me, another bad one for the charity that will receive my tiny donation.  So far, I’ve contributed $5.00 to my swear jar.  What will those people think if I call them to make a donation of only $5?  That I’m a total cheapskate.  (And they will be right.  Ha!)

{I just had a flashback of a scene from the movie The Hangover.  “Couldn’t find a meter, but here’s four bucks.”  Hilarious!!}

Stockpile Item to Donate:  Old Spice Pure Sport Body Spray

If anyone else is doing something special for Lent and could use some encouragement, please feel free to leave a comment about it!

Other Posts in This Series:

Leave a Reply

