40 Day Lent Challenge: Day 2

Standard

photo credit: ctklansing

On Ash Wednesday, I outlined my goals for Lent. Here’s how I fared on Day 2……

Five Things for Which I Am Thankful (listed in no particular order):

  1. Josh’s toys.  It’s so easy to get frustrated over having to pick up the same mess of toys multiple times per day.  I’m going to try to look at it as a blessing.  Many kids don’t have any toys, which can foster creativity and learning.
  2. Hot water.  Joshua flushed the toilet multiple times – like 10 – as I was showering, causing the water to run freezing-cold until I finished.  I was so mad at this house for having plumbing so old that two separate faucets both can’t run hot water simultaneously.  I need to remember that some people don’t have access to any clean water, let alone running or hot water.
  3. My hair.  In yesterday’s five reasons to be thankful, I think I still found a way to complain about my hair.  While doing my Internet research today, I came across a picture of a woman undergoing chemotherapy for breast cancer.  She was bald.  I can relax over having to comb out tangles.
  4. A functional microwave.  My friend Lydia has an iPhone, but not a microwave.  I don’t get it.  But that just proves that people can live without it.  It is a luxury that I use most days, and saves me from having to waste time and clean pots and pans by reheating food on the stove.
  5. My grandparents.  I’m one of the lucky few to still have four who are living!  And they’re all such loving people, with interesting stories and a plethora of wisdom I should be absorbing.  I really need to make a better effort to spend time with them, while doing things that could make their lives easier.

Fasting Research of the Day:   Spent another day sifting through information on SpiritHome.

I wasn’t quite ready to move on to reading about individual fasts without first gaining further insight into fasting itself.  The aspects I’m most intimidated by are the self-discipline and total submission.  Part of me is a control freak; and the other part is a free spirit with a rebellious streak.  So I already struggle with both self-discipline and submission in my daily life.

My initial thought upon realizing that fasting would be in discord those qualities was, Maybe fasting isn’t for me.  But upon further reflection, I’m thinking that those things are actually the exact reasons I should try fasting.  We’ll see……

Nonprofit/Charity of the Day:  Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.

I’ve always felt slightly connected to this organization because I worked in their fundraising booth at a convention as a part of my college internship, and because my aunt and my college volleyball coach are breast cancer survivors.  I was even contemplating walking in the Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure in Chicago in August.

After the foundation’s recent and controversial decision to pull funding from Planned Parenthood’s breast health services, I wanted to do more research.  Apparently, they have decided to reinstate the annual grants, but their once-sterling reputation is now tarnished.

I don’t know how I feel about the whole ordeal, but even if I did, I wouldn’t talk politics on my blog.  I just wish people would also leave the politics out of health care.  I think I need to do more research before I make a final decision about the 3-Day.

Swear Jar Contribution:  $0.25.  Only one “bad” word today.  Major improvement from yesterday

Stockpile Item to Donate:  Colgate Optic White Toothbrush.  My favorite kind, and the only one left in my stockpile.  That counts as a minor sacrifice, right?

If anyone else is doing something special for Lent and could use some encouragement, please feel free to leave a comment about it!

Other Posts in This Series:

Leave a Reply

