January’s DIY Project: Homemade Hair Detangler

Standard

One of my goals for this year is to complete 12 do-it-yourself (DIY) projects, one per month.  My hope is to become more crafty while simultaneously finding new ways to save money.  Let’s just call it “resourceful.”

In January, I tried my hand at homemade hair detangler.

Motives:

  • I have the world’s most tangly (is that a word?) hair.  My beautician told me I have “beaded” hair, and that it’s pretty rare.  Sounds cool, feels gross.
  • I have a biracial child whose hair has started to grow like a weed, and – surprise! – I have no idea what to do with it.
  • The instructions seemed super easy.  I knew I’d need an “easy win” for my first project if I intended to really stick with the whole trying-new-things thing.

Recipe:

  • Spray Bottle
  • Hair Conditioner
  • Tap Water

Directions:

  • Squirt 1-2 Tbsp of conditioner into spray bottle.  If you can’t find a measuring spoon, use just enough to cover the bottom of the bottle.
  • Fill the rest up with water.
  • Shake until it’s completely mixed.  Or do what I did, and hand it to your toddler.

Result:

Success!  Easy win, for sure.  Even I couldn’t mess that up.

The finished product was just as effective as any $3 bottle of detangler I’ve ever purchased.  And the best part – the spray bottle cost $1 in the travel section at Meijer, where I also bought the conditioner on sale for $0.79.  I also have enough leftover to make this probably 20 more times.  I normally spend around $10 per year on detangler, so $1.79 for multiple years’ use is a super good deal!

Does anyone else out there have a beaded hair texture?  What do you do with it?  Like I said, this DIY detangler works just as well as any other that I’ve tried, but it still can only do so much to this hot mess of hair that I’ve got.  I need serious help!

Leave a Reply

