40 Day Lent Challenge: Day 1

Standard

photo credit: 4.bp.blogspot.com

Disclaimer:  I didn’t intend for this post to be so long, let alone divided into two parts, but I had a few revelations throughout the day.  Please bear with me.  I’ll keep my updates much less wordy in the future!

Yesterday, I outlined my goals for Lent. Here’s how I fared on Day 1……

Five Things for Which I Am Thankful (listed in no particular order):

  1. My health.  I ate two delicious, homemade cupcakes for breakfast this morning as I watched my stepfather prick his finger to check his blood sugar.  I am thankful that I do not have to worry about dietary restrictions, daily injections, or medical problems.
  2. My mother.  She teaches and humbles me every day.
  3. My teeth.  I’m serious!  In a checkout lane today, I spoke to a woman who only had one tooth.  I was extremely distracted, and can’t remember a thing she said, but I did notice that she was buying soft foods.  I’m thankful that I have yet to lose any of my own chompers.  I don’t want my oral hygiene to negatively affect my interactions with others or limit the foods I may eat.  (I’m already so picky.)
  4. Dry shampoo.  Washing my hair every day means having to comb it every day, and that just doesn’t work for me.  Wait – what was I just saying about personal hygiene?  …  Don’t judge me!  ;)
  5. The ability to feed my child.  For many months, I have absolutely dreaded dinner time each day.  Josh often fights me tooth and nail to maintain a frustrating case of what I call “baby anorexia.”  I’m learning some creative ways to get him to eat, but I don’t win every fight.  Instead of approaching tonight’s dinner in defense-mode, I chose to be thankful that my child isn’t hungry because we don’t have enough food.  It’s just because he’s stubborn like his mother!  That mindset provided me with more patience throughout the ordeal, which finally ended with Josh finishing his entire plate.

Nonprofit/Charity of the Day:  Big Brothers Big Sisters International.

I was a volunteer mentor for BBBS in 2007 and 2008, and I’m sorry to say that my experience did not turn out to be what I had hoped.  But I definitely don’t blame the organization or my former Little.  I take full responsibility for having been completely unprepared.  I had done zero research or planning, and thought I’d just be hanging out with a little kid.  Wrong!  I was already busy with a full-time job, part-time coaching gig, and six credit hours of grad school.  At that time, enrolling in the program proved to be another way that I’d bitten off more than I could chew.

Navigating the BBBS Website today confirmed what I learned those years ago.  During this season in my life, I know it would not be realistic for me to become a Big again.  I couldn’t fully commit myself to providing the kind of support that another child would need while properly attending to my current responsibilities.

But I do wholeheartedly recommend this program to anyone who does have the level of dedication it takes to make a positive impact in a child’s life.  You’d be surprised at how quickly kids begin to admire and become attached to adults they’ve just met.  If you have the time and a willingness to share your efforts and life lessons with a child who could use a positive role model, contact your local BBBS to learn more.

Swear Jar Contribution:  $2.75.

That’s 11 “bad” words.  Bad words can be defined as any naughty words that I would not want Josh to repeat.  That includes the obvious three-to-five letter profanities, H-E-double-hockey-sticks, the word for poo that starts with “C” and rhymes with “trap,” and the word “sucks.”   No, I am not paying the jar for this explanation.

After only one day, I know that this is not going to serve the purpose for which I intended it.  I had to search the house, my purse, and my car for loose change to put in the jar; and most of what I found didn’t even belong to me.  So there was no real feeling of penalty with my deposits.

And hello!  The less I use bad language, the less money I’ll have to give as a charitable donation at the end of Lent.  Not my best idea, but I’m still going to stick with it.  Using G-rated language at all times is an important goal to achieve.

Stockpile Item to Donate:  Colgate MaxWhite Toothpaste with Mini Bright Strips (the best/my favorite toothpaste in my collection)

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

