Giving It Another Go: The Bible.

Standard

photo credit: digital-mission.net

This year, I am determined to give reading the Bible another go.  I read it obsessively back in 2008, when I set out to devour it from cover to cover, but I lost focus in the middle of the book of Psalms.

So last month, I downloaded YouVersion’s free Bible app (available on several different mobile and tablet operating systems) to my phone, and bookmarked the Web site on my computer.  I scrolled through about 25 different reading plans, and decided upon the chronological plan.  This particular plan breaks down the Bible into 365 daily reading assignments, totaling about 15 minutes of reading per day.  I really enjoy the added historical context it provides, as it calls for you to read about Biblical events in the order in which they occurred.

In addition to choosing your reading plan (dictated by what you want to get out of your Bible reading experience), you can also choose your preferred version of the Bible.  I started with King James, then tried New King James; but I’ve found that I prefer the Common English Version when it comes to reading electronically.  You may also choose to read it in many different languages.

If you do better when you have someone to hold you accountable, YouVersion is a great tool to help you with that.  You can connect with others via Facebook, Twitter, and e-mail in order to ask questions, give progress updates,  or just offer general support.  You may also create tags, earn badges, bookmark pages, and create notes.

If reading electronically isn’t your thing, ESV offers printable reading plans that you can keep with your Bible.  A printable version of the chronological plan can be found here.

Leave a Reply

