Food for Thought: “Eat That Frog!”

Standard

photo credit: Amazon.com

I was blessed with the opportunity to read two books in January.  The first one I tackled was Brian Tracy’s Eat That Frog!  21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time, which provides concrete examples (listed steps, real-life narratives, and motivational quotes) on how to achieve the most effective use of your time and efforts professionally, at home, and otherwise.

Eat That Frog! is perfect for anyone who wants to infuse more meaning and purpose into his or her daily actions.  Even if procrastination is not one of your vices, this book will undoubtedly help you to set attainable goals and improve your time management skills.  It prompted me to consider and determine my most important priorities, set goals for 2012, and develop a daily time budget.  Again, it is really about gaining the most effective use of one’s time, a problem that plagues more than just born procrastinators like me.

Even though the rave reviews I’d read by multiple bloggers are what initially drew me to Eat That Frog!, reading its preface is what gave me the enthusiasm to not only finish it, but to try to implement what I read in the following 21 chapters.  Mr. Tracy was a high-school-drop-out-turned-laborer-turned-salesman.  Eventually, he began asking successful people how they became successful, and then…….  He did the things they did until he received the results they did.  Now he is a wealthy, college-graduated entrepreneur with several businesses under his belt.  He speaks at seminars to hundreds of thousands (possibly millions) of people who want to achieve the level of success that he has.

Your season in life and your current responsibilities will dictate what you get out of reading this book, which is why I recommend keeping it on your shelf (or in your e-reader).  It is short and easy enough to digest that you would benefit from rereading it with each life change, such as a change in profession or family status.

At my current season in life, the most relevant aspect of having read Eat That Frog! is the perspective I’ve gained regarding choosing my actions and tasks wisely.  Tracy’s 80/20 rule has helped me to assign a value to many of my daily activities; and I often find myself asking a question he posed:  “If I were not doing this already, knowing what I now know, would I start doing it again today?”  (Angry Birds, anyone?)

In a nutshell, Eat That Frog! is definitely food for thought.

Leave a Reply

