Dirt Pie: Success

Standard

Attempted my first recipe for my Pinterest Challenge today, and I’m declaring it a total success.

I refer to myself as a “novice chef.”  Translation:  “I can’t cook.”  (Not to deter you from trying this recipe.  I can’t cook because I’ve made dew attempts to do so.  But most of the recipes I’ve attempted so far have been successful!)  So I’m all about quick and easy directions.

Crystal Paine’s 15-Minute Oreo Pie, which I’ve always known as “Dirt Pie,” is just that – quick and easy.  So if you ever have to whip up a dessert in a hurry, I suggest trying this one.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Package Oreos
  • 1/2 Stick of Butter/Margarine
  • 2 Boxes Vanilla Pudding (4 serving size)
  • 1 1/2 Cups Cold Milk
  • 8 oz. Cool Whip (other brands or homemade will work, too)

Directions:

  • Crush 24-30 Oreos.  (Crystal recommends using a blender or food processor; but since I don’t have one, I used a gallon-sized Ziploc bag and a rolling pin.  I totally agree that you should use the blender!  Oy…)
  • Mix crushed Oreos with melted butter, and press onto bottom and sides of 9″ pie plate.
  • Blend milk and pudding mix until thick.  Took about 30-ish seconds with my hand mixer.
  • Beat Cool Whip into pudding with hand mixer until you reach your desired consistency.  (Crystal advised that you use thawed whipped cream, but I forgot to take mine out of the freezer.  Fortunately, it was easy to blend anyway.)
  • Stir about 12 crushed Oreos into pudding/whipped cream mixture.
  • Spoon mixture onto crust on pie plate.
  • Garnish with Oreos.  (I used whole Oreos, but you could use halves or pieces.)
  • Refrigerate for “at least four hours.”

I put quotation marks around “at least four hours” for a reason:  Because I couldn’t wait that long.  I tasted the mixture after I spooned it onto the crust… Delish!!  And that accounts for the same reason that I “garnished” my pie with tons of whole Oreos.  I pretty much used them to scoop it like a dip every single time I passed the fridge.  (Crystal’s finished product is much prettier.  Mine will be next time, too, if I acquire the proper equipment and a shred of self-control.)

But after the four-hour mark, I tried my treat as an actual pie.  The result:  thicker and more firm, but just as tasty!  My parents both ate a slice, and said it was “very rich,” which was their polite way of saying it wasn’t for them.  But my mom is a constant dieter and my stepdad is diabetic, so…  What do they know, anyway?  Joshy and I don’t count calories or carbs, so we absolutely loved it!!

2 responses »

  1. Kel…you can use ANY flavor sandwich cookies, my fav peanut butter with chocolate pudding, Mark’s fav vanilla with lemon pudding. IF you use SF pudding it’s not quite as rich but just a tastey! I also occasionally switch it up and add 1/2 brick softened cream cheese. Individual servings it small plastic cups garnished with gummy worms or plastic flowers are ADORABLE! Glad your dessert was a success.

Leave a comment